You are viewing an archived website. For the most up-to-date information, visit our new website:
Secretary-General appoints new Multi-Stakeholder Group to support the Technology Facilitation Mechanism
  • By UN-DESA/DSDG on 24 Apr 2018
24 Apr 2018 - United Nations Secretary-General António Guterres has appointed a new group of ten experts to support the Technology Facilitation Mechanism, as launched by the Heads of State and Government at the UN Sustainable Development Summit in 2015. These experts replace the earlier group of ten, whom the Secretary General wishes to thank for their service.

The Technology Facilitation Mechanism (TFM) was created by the Addis Ababa Action Agenda and launched by the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development in order to support the implementation of the sustainable development goals (SDGs). The mechanism comprises a United Nations inter-agency task team on science, technology and innovation, currently consisting of 35 entities; an annual multi-stakeholder forum on science, technology and innovation (STI) for the SDGs; and an online platform to serve as a gateway for information on existing STI initiatives, mechanisms and programs.

The 10-Member Multi-stakeholder Group will advise the UN inter-agency Task Team, in particular on preparations for the annual meetings of the multi-stakeholder forum and on support for the development and operationalization of the online platform.

The members bring diversified expertise and experience across various fields of science, technology, innovation and entrepreneurship. They are internationally recognized in their respective areas of work. The group will work closely with stakeholder groups, including business, youth and children, and the academic and research community.

The first meeting of the group will take place at the UN HQ in New York on June 4, 2018.


  • Ms. Heide Hackmann (South Africa), Executive Director, International Council for Science (ICSU)
  • Ms. Agnes Kijazi (Tanzania), Director General, Tanzania Meteorological Agency
  • Mr. Huodong Guo (China), President and Chairman, Institute of Remote Sensing and Digital Earth of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS)
  • Mr. Michiharu Nakamura (Japan), Senior Advisor (Former President), Japan Science and Technology Agency
  • Ms. Anne-Christine Ritschkoff (Finland), Senior Advisor, VTT Technical Research Center of Finland Ltd.
  • Ms. Špela Stres (Slovenia), Director, Innovation and Technology Transfer Center for the Jozef Stefan Institute
  • Mr. José Ramón López-Portillo Romano (Mexico), Chairman, Q Element Ltd.
  • Mr. Paulo Ernani Gadelha Vieira (Brazil), Senior Researcher, former President of Oswaldo Cruz Foundation (Fiocruz) and Coordinator of Fiocruz Strategy for Agenda 2030
  • Mr. Vaughan Turekian (United States of America), Senior Director of Science and Technology for Sustainability Program, National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
  • Ms. Ada Yonath (Israel), Director and Nobel Laureate, the Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Center for Biomolecular Structure and Assembly of the Weizmann Institute of Science.

Further information

Related news
Read more in related topics
United Nations