

12 September 2019

Excellency,

I am writing in relation to the voluntary national reviews (VNR) to be carried out at the July 2020 high-level political forum on sustainable development (HLPF). I would like to refer to my letter of 30 July 2019 in which I informed Member States on forthcoming VNRs.

Since that letter, a number of other countries have expressed the wish to present VNRs at the HLPF. We have received letters from 54 countries¹.

Bearing in mind the limited time available during the HLPF and the approach taken for the VNRs presented at the HLPF in 2019, the Bureau of ECOSOC agreed that the following 49 countries will be able to present a VNR in 2020:

26 first-time presenters: Austria, Plurinational State of Bolivia, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Burundi, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Gambia, Kyrgyzstan, Liberia, Libya, Malawi, Federated States of Micronesia, Mozambique, North Macedonia, Papua New Guinea, Republic of Moldova, Russian Federation, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Seychelles, Solomon Islands, Syrian Arab Republic, Trinidad and Tobago, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, and Zambia and 23 second time presenters: Argentina, Armenia, Bangladesh, Belize, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Estonia, Finland, Georgia, Honduras, India, Jordan, Monaco, Morocco, Nepal, Niger, Nigeria, Panama, Peru, Samoa, Slovenia, Uganda, and Zimbabwe.

All Permanent Representatives and Permanent Observers to the United Nations Economic and Social Council New York

¹ 26 first-time presenters: Austria, Plurinational State of Bolivia, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Burundi, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Gambia, Kyrgyzstan, Liberia, Libya, Malawi, Federated States of Micronesia, Mozambique, North Macedonia, Papua New Guinea, Republic of Moldova, Russian Federation, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Seychelles, Solomon Islands, Syrian Arab Republic, Trinidad and Tobago, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, and Zambia. 28 second- and third- time presenters: Argentina, Armenia, Bangladesh, Belize, Chad, Colombia, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Ecuador, Estonia, Finland, Georgia, Honduras, India, Jordan, Lesotho, Monaco, Morocco, Nepal, Niger, Nigeria, Panama, Peru, Qatar, Samoa, Slovenia, Uganda, and Zimbabwe.

The Bureau agreed to give priority to first- and second-time presenters. The three countries that presented their first VNR in 2019², as well as the two countries that have already made two VNR presentations³, are encouraged to wait until a later HLPF before presenting an additional VNR.

The VNR presentations are planned to begin on Monday, 13 July 2020 (the last of the first five days of HLPF) and proceed for the 3 days of the ministerial segment of HLPF (14 - 16 July 2020). In accordance with past practice, countries presenting a VNR for the first time will be allocated 30 minutes each in the programme; countries presenting a VNR for the second time will be allocated 20 minutes each in a panel format.

I would like to thank all the countries who expressed their interest in conducting VNRs in 2020.

I look forward to working with all of you in allowing for in depth preparations and thorough VNR presentations at the 2020 meeting of the high-level political forum on sustainable development, under the auspices of ECOSOC.

Please accept, Excellency, the assurances of my highest consideration.

Hona Jun

Mona Juul President of ECOSOC

² Chad, Côte d'Ivoire and Lesotho

³ Colombia and Qatar