

## HIGH-LEVEL POLITICAL FORUM ON SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT UNDER THE AUSPICES OF THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY

**24-25 SEPTEMBER 2019, NEW YORK** 

## **PROGRAMME**

TUESDAY, 24 September 2019		
15.00 -15.55	OPENING	
	Opening and Welcome Remarks  H.E. Mr. Tijjani Muhammad-Bande  President of the 74 <sup>th</sup> session of the General Assembly	
	Statement  H.E. Mr. António Guterres  Secretary-General, United Nations	
	Statement  H.E. Ms. Mona Juul  President of the Economic and Social Council	
	Adoption of the political declaration  Fireside Chat on the Global Sustainable Development Report – "The Future is	
	<ul> <li>Moderator:         <ul> <li>Dr. Joannie Marlene Bewa, Physician, Public Health Researcher</li> <li>United Nations Young Leader for the Sustainable Development Goals</li> <li>Founder, Young Beninese Leaders Association (YBLA)</li> <li>Scientists:</li> </ul> </li> </ul>	
	<ul> <li>Mr. Peter Messerli, Centre for Development and Environment (CDE),         University of Bern, Switzerland</li> <li>Ms. Endah Murniningtyas, National Development Planning Agency         (BAPPENAS), Republic of Indonesia</li> </ul>	

	<ul> <li>Ms. Eun Mee Kim, Graduate School of International Studies, Ewha Womans University, Seoul, Republic of Korea</li> <li>Mr. David Smith, Institute for Sustainable Development at the University of the West Indies (UWI)</li> </ul> Close of the Opening Segment
15.55 – 16.00	Leaving No One Behind Video Message 1: Women and Girls
16.00 – 17.00	PLENARY
	Statements delivered on behalf of groups of Member States and participating States (3 mins each) (see List of Speakers)
17.00 – 17.05	Leaving No One Behind Video Message 2: Youth
17.05 – 18.00	LEADERS DIALOGUE 1 – Megatrends Impacting the Achievement of the Sustainable Development Goals
	Co-Moderators:  H.E. Mr. Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, President of the Republic of Ghana H.E. Ms. Erna Solberg, Prime Minister of Norway  Speakers:  1. TURKEY (Head of State) 2. COLOMBIA (Head of State) 3. ESTONIA (Head of State) 4. NIGERIA (Head of State) 5. BULGARIA (Head of State) 6. UKRAINE (Head of State) 7. JAPAN (Head of Government) 8. SLOVENIA (Head of Government) 9. Mr. David Malpass, President, World Bank Group 10. Ms. Jessica Ortega, Co-Chair Global Indigenous Youth Caucus
WEDNESDAY, 25 September 2019	
10.00 – 10.05	Leaving No One Behind Video Message 3: Children

10.05 – 11.00	LEADERS DIALOGUE 2 –Accelerating the Achievement of the Sustainable  Development Goals: Critical Entry Points
	<ul> <li>Co-Moderators:</li> <li>H.E Mr. Carlos Alvarado Quesada, President of Costa Rica</li> <li>H.E. Ms. Katrín Jakobsdóttir, Prime Minister of Iceland</li> <li>Speakers:</li> <li>EGYPT (Head of State)</li> <li>MONTENEGRO (Head of State)</li> <li>SIERRA LEONE (Head of State)</li> <li>KENYA (Head of State)</li> <li>KIRIBATI (Head of State)</li> <li>NETHERLANDS (Head of State)</li> <li>PERU (Head of State)</li> <li>POLAND (Head of State)</li> <li>SAINT VINCENT AND THE GRENADINES (Head of Government)</li> <li>Mr. Qu Dongyu, Director General, Food and Agriculture Organization</li> <li>Ms. Paula Gioia, La Via Campesina</li> </ul>
11.00 – 11.05	Leaving No One Behind Video Message 4: Refugees, Internally Displaced Persons and Migrants
	LEADERS DIALOGUE 3: Measures to Leverage Progress Across the Sustainable
11.05 – 12.00	Development Goals
11.05 – 12.00	
12.00 – 12.05	Co-Moderators:  H.E. Mr. Sauli Niinisto, President of the Republic of Finland H.E. Mr. Gaston Browne, Prime Minister of Antigua and Barbuda  Speakers:  KAZAKHSTAN (Head of State) SPAIN (Head of Government) NORTH MACEDONIA (Head of Government) TAJIKISTAN (Head of Government) IRELAND (Head of Government) JAMAICA (Head of Government) Ms. Vera Songwe, the Executive Secretary of the Economic Commission for Africa on behalf of the UN's five regional commissions

	<ul> <li>Co-Moderators:</li> <li>H.E. Ms. Kolinda Grabar Kitarović, President of the Republic of Croatia</li> <li>H.E. Ms. Sheikh Hasina, Prime Minister of Bangladesh</li> <li>Speakers:</li> <li>1. ESWATINI (Head of State)</li> <li>2. PALAU (Head of State)</li> <li>3. BHUTAN (Head of Government)</li> <li>4. NAURU (Head of State)</li> <li>5. SAMOA (Head of Government)</li> <li>6. Mr. Achim Steiner, Administrator, United Nations Development Programme</li> <li>7. Ms. Gabriela Cuevas Barron, President, Inter-Parliamentary Union</li> <li>8. Ms. Tri Rismaharini, Mayor of Surabaya, Indonesia</li> </ul>
15.00 – 15.05	Leaving No One Behind Video Message 6: Older Persons
15.05 – 16.00	LEADERS DIALOGUE 5: Partnerships for Sustainable Development
	<ul> <li>Co-Moderators:</li> <li>H.E. Ms. Sahle-Work Zewde, President of Ethiopia</li> <li>Speakers:</li> <li>SEYCHELLES (Head of State)</li> <li>GEORGIA (Head of State)</li> <li>REPUBLIC OF MOLDOVA (Head of State)</li> <li>ROMANIA (Head of State)</li> <li>CZECH REPUBLIC (Head of Government)</li> <li>SWEDEN (Head of Government)</li> <li>CABO VERDE (Head of Government)</li> <li>MADAGASCAR (Head of Government)</li> <li>Mr. John W. H. Denton AO, Secretary-General, International Chamber of Commerce</li> <li>Mr. Akinwumi Adesina, President, Africa Development Bank</li> <li>Ms. Sharan Burrow, Secretary General, International Trade Union Confederation</li> </ul>
16.00 – 16.05	Leaving No One Behind Video Message 7: Persons living with HIV
16.05 – 17.00	LEADERS DIALOGUE 6: The 2020-2030 Vision
	<ul> <li>Co-Moderators:</li> <li>H.E. Mr. Muhammad Jusuf Kalla, Vice President of Indonesia</li> <li>Hon. Carmelo Abela, Minister of Foreign Affairs and Trade Promotion of Malta</li> </ul>

Speakers:
1. LATVIA (Head of State)
2. MALAYSIA (Head of Government)
3. ANDORRA (Head of Government)
4. COMOROS (Head of State)
5. HUNGARY (Head of State)
6. ARMENIA (Head of Government)
7. Ms. Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka, Executive Director of UN-Women
8. Mr. Jose Viera, Chief Executive Officer, World Blind Union
Leaving No One Behind Video Message 8: Indigenous Peoples
PLENARY
Statements delivered by participating States (3 mins each) (see List of Speakers)
CLOSING SEGMENT
Mr. Ameer Brown, Spoken Word Performance
<ul> <li>People Action for the SDGs, SDG Action Campaign and Young Leaders for the SDGs</li> </ul>
Ms. Amina J. Mohammed, Deputy Secretary-General
H.E. Mr. Tijjani Muhammad-Bande
President of the 74 <sup>th</sup> session of the General Assembly