UN-DESA ENERGY GRANT

POWERING THE FUTURE WE WANT

Recognizing leadership and innovative practices in energy for sustainable development

AWARD CEREMONY

MONDAY, 14 SEPTEMBER 2015

11:15 am- 12:30 pm

Conference Room 2

Followed by a Luncheon at Delegates Dining Room
United Nations Headquarters, New York

DRAFT PROGRAMME¹

Master of Ceremony Mr. Nikhil Seth

Director, Division for Sustainable Development, DESA Executive Director (Appointed) UNITAR

10:50 am – 11:15 am Finalists/High-level Steering Committee/Advisory Council members and invited Guests to be escorted to their seats in the front row

Music performance by UN Staff Symphony

11:17 am – 11:33 am Remarks by H.E Ban Ki-moon Secretary-General of the United Nations

> Remarks by H.E Sam Kutesa President of the General Assembly

Remarks by Mr. Wu Hongbo Under-Secretary-General for Economic and Social Affairs

Remarks by Dr. Patrick Ho Secretary-General of the China Energy Fund Committee

11:33 am –11:38 am Announcement of the Finalists
Announcement of the Special Award
Announcement of the Winner

Presentation of Trophy and Certificates

11:38 am High-level Steering Committee and Advisory Council members invited to join the Group Photo (The corridor space between Conference Room 1 and Conference Room 2)

[Speaking from a lectern]

11:50 am – 12:00 am Acceptance speech by the Winner

12:00 pm - 12:10 pmAcceptance speech by recipient of Special Award

12:10 pm- 12:30 pm Showing the video

¹ Draft programme, subject to approval by the Executive Office of the Secretary-General