Links to UN bodies

Links to site map

Main Links

Guidelines for National Reporting

Fourth Implementation Cycle

The fourth implementation cycle of the Commission on Sustainable Development (CSD) will begin in May 2010 with CSD-18 (review year), followed in May 2011 by CSD-19 (policy year). According to its multi-year programme of work, CSD encourages Member States to provide national reports, on a voluntary basis, that reflect developments in these five areas:

  1. Chemicals
  2. Mining
  3. The 10-year framework of programmes on sustainable consumption and production patterns
  4. Transport
  5. Waste management

These thematic areas will be addressed holistically, taking into account economic, social and environmental dimensions of sustainable development.

To assist in reporting process, Guidelines for National Reporting have been developed and circulated to all Member States, both through their respective permanent missions to the United Nations and their national focal points for reporting to the CSD. In the Guidelines, Member States are also asked to provide updates on national sustainable development strategies (NSDS) and indicators for sustainable development. Member States are requested to report only once during the two-year cycle.

Reporting to CSD-18 in 2010

  • Reporting Guidelines for the Fourth Implementation Cycle of the CSD-18/19 Sessions (2010-2011) and for National Sustainable Development Strategies

    English | French | Spanish