2nd session of the Commission on Sustainable Development
The second session was opened by the retiring Chairman, Mr. Razali Ismail, Ambassador of Malaysia, who presided over the election of a new Bureau.

The members elected:

New Chairman: Mr. Klaus Topfer Germany's Minister for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety

Other members of the Bureau included:
  • Ms. Savitri Kunadi (India);
  • Ambassador Tunguru Huaraka (Namibia);
  • Dr. Maciej Nowicki (Poland); and
  • and Minister Sergio Florencio (Brazil).
United Nations